Home > Parish Council > Parish Councillors

Parish Councillors

The role of a Parish Councillor is to represent the whole electorate and be responsive to them. As an elected representative, Councillors will be held accountable by local people for things that happen locally and as such Councillors try and do something positive and try and make a difference to the community in which they live by influencing the decisions that affect and will affect their community. Councillors are expected to work together in the council to serve the community. The Councillors role is to bring local issues to the attention of the council on which he/she serves and to help make decisions on behalf of that community.

It is the duty of the Councillor to ensure that he/she attends meetings and that a completed Declaration of Acceptance of Office form and agreement to abide by the Code of Conduct as well as the Council’s standing orders is delivered to the Council’s Proper Officer.

As part of a Councillor's overall responsibility he/she needs to ensure that they fulfill the criteria for holding office; that they abide by the majority decision; that they vote as a Council and not as an individual; that the final version of the council’s budget is approved; that decisions taken by the council are properly implemented and that decisions taken are monitored to ensure efficient and effective services are delivered.

A Parish Councillor is elected for a term of office which, following the elections in May 2019 will expire in 2023. The term of a Councillor may be ended by written resignation to the Chairman; failure to attend meetings for six consecutive months without a reason approved by the Council; disqualification for a prison sentence; bankruptcy; an election offence or a serious breach of the council’s code of conduct.

 The Parish Councillors for the current term are:  

Clive Arthey Chairman 01787 211316
Rhett Corcoran Councillor 01449 741494
Mark Hainsworth Councillor 01449 741199
Ben Howe Councillor

07917 624873

Ruth Howe Councillor 01787 210167
James Moore Councillor  
Andrew Sturgeon Councillor 01787 211402